Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Laperriere wins the Masterton Award

Ian Laperriere was the lone Flyer to win an award for the 2010-11 season and he didn't even play in a single game. Lappy, who last played in the 2010 Stanley Cup run, has won the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, an award given for perseverance and sportsmanship. It's pretty fair to call it a lifetime achievement award for Lappy, who has been the ultimate team guy throughout his entire career. The other finalists for the award were former Flyers Ray Emery and Daymond Langkow.

Despite the award, I wouldn't count on Lappy returning to the Flyers or even playing hockey ever again. Already 37 and still not fully recovered from taking a slapshot to the face, it might take a miracle to get him back on the ice.

No other Flyer was even a finalist for any other NHL award. Future (hopefully) Flyer Ilya Bryzgalov finished 6th in the voting for the Vezina award.

No comments: