Thursday, January 28, 2010

Akers, Dawkins make NFL All-Decade Team

The NFL will announce their All-Decade Team for the 2000's, as voted on by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Committee, this weekend at the Pro Bowl, and we already know that two players who spent most of the decade with the Eagles that will be on the team: David Akers and Brian Dawkins. Akers and Dawkins, along with 9 other players, learned that they will be on the All-Decade Team when the NFL informed all of the All-Decade players that are playing in the Pro Bowl this season that they would receive the honor. The rest of the team will be made up of players not at the Pro Bowl this season.

Akers and Dawkins are certainly deserving of the honor. Akers spent the entire decade with the Eagles and was one of the top kickers in the game year in and year out. Dawkins was also at the top of his game for the entire decade as a leader of the Eagles defense.

Other Eagles could be added to the All-Decade team although I doubt any others would be in consideration. Donovan McNabb would have already been announced as the QB but there was no way he was going to beat out Peyton Manning for that honor.

Here is the list of players already announced as members of the NFL All-Decade Team:
Antonio Gates TE, Alan Faneca G, Steve Hutchinson G, Kevin Mawae C, Julius Peppers DE, Ray Lewis LB, Champ Bailey CB, Dawkins S, Shane Lechler P, Akers K, Josh Cribbs KR


Anonymous said...

Good brief and this post helped me alot in my college assignement. Say thank you you as your information.

Anonymous said...

Brim over I to but I about the list inform should secure more info then it has.